Library meeting

Library Hosts Community, Political Leaders

The Saluda County Library hosted community and political leaders Mon., Feb. 6. The purpose of the meeting was to explain the activities of the library and the need to expand the size of the building. The library has raised close to $200,000 of the estimated $800,000 cost of the expanstion. Attending the meeting were library staff, board members, Friends of the Library, Rep. Cal Forrest, Sen. Floyd Nicholson, County Councilman Jones Butler, County Councilman D.J. Miller, School Board Chairman Dr. Arlene Puryear, and School Superintendent Dr. David Mathis. A more detailed story will be published later (Standard-Sentinel photo)

Saluda County Sheriff’s Office
New Automated Phone System

  The Saluda County Sheriff’s office is excited to announce the new phone system coming soon.
  With an increase in population, there has been an increase in phone calls. This upgrade will be beneficial to anyone wishing to speak to a specific department or inquire about the status of a specific case. Dispatchers are often overwhelmed with multiple emergency calls, while also responding to radio traffic and attending to secretarial duties for the sheriff’s office.
  The sheriff’s office dispatchers will still be available at all times, but now you are able to reach the department you need without going through the communications department. Please dial 864-445-2112 for all non-emergency needs and follow the prompts as listed below. In the event of a life threatening emergency dial 911.
  When you call the non-emergency number you will be given the options listed below.
  Press 1 for Civil Process
  Press 2 for Victim Advocate
  Press 3 for Investigations
  Press 4 for Dispatch
  Press 5 for Uniform Patrol
  Press 6 for Sheriff
  Press 7 for Chief

  Always dial 911 for Law Enforcement, Medical, and Fire Emergencies.

CONGRATULATIONS TO SHS SC JR. DUCK STAMP WINNERS -  Announcing Saluda High School’s 2017 SC Junior Duck Stamp Winning Entries. Congratulations to: Left to right:  Gavin Wheeler- 2nd place, Ty Bell, Grace Collins & Macy Crawford- Honorable Mention.